Steve Covello - ID and online instructor at Granite State College (USNH)

Hello everyone! I have been an instructional designer and online instructor at Granite State College since 2011. GSC’s enrollments are >80% online. I am also GSC’s PressBooks admin and created an open textbook for the course I teach.

I have presented for SUNY, NERCOMP, AAEEBL, and have been an Open Education Ambassador for USNH since 2016.

I guess we’ll see what happens here, won’t we? :slight_smile:

@steve.covello Hi Steve, welcome to the Rebus Community! It’s been great to hear how you’ve been using Pressbooks to create open textbooks – thank you so much for sharing . We’d love to hear more about the work you’ve been doing as the Open Ed Ambassador for USNH.

@apurva The title of “Ambassador” is simply acting as both an explainer of Open Ed and an advocate - all while continuing my own understandings of what Open Ed can be and how it is interpreted by educators (both faculty and administrators). Since I am one of the frontline instructional designers here at GSC, I am able to bring up the topic with faculty and program directors within the normal course readiness cycles and new faculty on-boarding.

Each instance where I bring up the possibilities for an OER or Open Ped integration into an online course discussion, the responses are always positive, though the logistics, planning, and effort required to pull these ideas off into reality is often the barrier to actually producing something.

@steve.covello Thanks for explaining. It’s good to hear that response to possible user/creation of OER or integration of Open Ped methods into courses is positive – getting faculty on board is often the biggest challenge. As to the barrier you’ve identified, Rebus is in the process of putting together resources and software to help faculty to plan these projects and solicit collaborators from the community to help action it. Stay tuned!