Offray Luna, Hacktivist and reseacher creating OER for digital citizenship and data activism

Hi :-),

My name is Offray Luna. I’m a researcher finishing my PhD on design and creation in Caldas University (Manizales, Colombia). I have been exploring the creation of OER with my undergrad students since 2002 and my postgrad students since 2008 (a presentation about the process I have followed with them is here, in Spanish).

This dated practices and explorations evolved, since mid 2014, in Grafoscopio, a tool for reproducible research and publishing and data storytelling and agile visualization and the Data Week, a hackathon+workshop where we learn how to use and extend Grafoscopio to deal with citizen concerns and amplify more plural voices. In the process we constantly create agile documentation and some of it take the form of books and booklets, for example the open sourced Data Journalism Handbook (in Spanish). You can see more examples of what we have done from hackerspaces and using a perspective from/for the Global South (we are located in Colombia), building digital tools and community practices around OER in citizen and activist practices and bridging academia, grassroots communities and activism, via open source tools and ethos. (I would put more links, but I think this Forum software prevents that, and you will find it anyway in the page I have offered).

I’m really glad to find this initiative and its particular approach for book and other media format and the idea of making marginal voices and subjects more visible and central.

We, at the local hackerspace will be building some booklet(s) in the last quarter of the year using CodiMD and Grafoscopio and we hope to share the experience with this community and bridge what is happening in the “Global South” to what happens in the “Global North”.

Cheers,

Offray