INAA: Chapter 11-The Plains

More information coming soon…

Hello everyone,
I tried posting yesterday (and apparently failed at it)–I just wanted to introduce myself since I don’t think I know anyone else in the Plains group.
I’m an Assistant Professor at the University of Oklahoma and I work in Nebraska, Kansas, and Oklahoma. I’m most interested in sites dating to the 16th through mid-19th centuries following European colonization. I focus on the direct and indirect consequences of colonization that Plains peoples had to adapt and respond to–like dealing with the influx of migrants from adjacent regions, changing economic and social networks, etc.
What about all of you? What are your research interests?

@strabert Hi Sarah! It is great to have you on board. As I mentioned to many folks that may consider themselves historical archaeologists, one thing that I think would be wonderful to try and incorporate into this textbook is a sense of continuity within regional chapters–so the Plains chapter does not stop right before colonization only to be picked up again (or perhaps not, unfortunately) in a chapter devoted to historical archaeology. Do you find this parsing of time periods to be limiting, more broadly in North American or in the Plains specifically? Do you see the benefits of making a connection through time in each regional chapter while still having a chapter focused on historical archaeology later in the textbook? I am interested to hear your thoughts.

Also, if you know of other Plains archaeologists who would be interested in working on this chapter, do send them here or they can email me directly–or if you have names email them to me and I can email them directly. I am always happy to talk 1:1 first as well, as I think the project can be best explained live. I would love to get a few more people on board here to help with the outlining and writing process.

Hi everyone. I just want to ensure two things: