Team Meet & Greet: Food Studies: Matter, Meaning & Movement

Welcome to Food Studies: Matter, Meaning, Movement!

Take a moment to tell us about yourself, why you’re interested in this project, and get to know your fellow team members. We look forward to working with you on this exciting project.

3 Likes

I’ve been teaching about food systems for 25 years, and I direct an academic program in Food Studies. I’m always interested in new teaching materials, and have lamented the lack of strong text books in the field.

4 Likes

Hi all, I’m an academic researcher from The Netherlands, aiming to share knowledge on the (fairtrade) food system. I’m happy to contribute since I think the way we set up food systems definitely needs more attention among students, especially when it comes to the moments where ethics. culture (meanings) and economics meet.

4 Likes

Thanks for your interest, Eefje and @mollya! I’m excited to see the team growing. :smiley:

3 Likes

Glad to see you here, @e.degelder. Thanks for being part of this project!

3 Likes

Hi everyone,

Thank you for inviting me into the project. I work at the Centre for Agroecology, Water and Resilience at Coventry University - but I live in Portland Oregon and am originally from Canada (and that’s where I met David and Irena and my link into the project). Most of my work can be seen here: www.agroecologynow.com and agroecology will be the topic I’m writing a chapter on.

I’m interested in the project because:
a) I have a hard time saying no to anything, especially when asked by amazing colleagues like David and Irena (and I don’t believe I’ve met Amanda yet, but I’m sure she is amazing too!).
b) I’m very interested in exploring alternative publishing models, especially open access ones and collective projects that enable new connections. So, happy to also have this platform also to meet some of you :->

Looking forward to learning more about the other contributors and contributions in the book.

Best,

Colin

3 Likes