Call for Contributors for Teacher Prep Text Book

Hello. My name is Heather and I’m new to the Rebus Community. I work at a community college in Oregon, USA. I am starting an open text book project for a teacher preparation program. Our current text is definitely not written through a DEI lens, and I’d like to change and improve upon that. I’m searching for a diverse group of contributors that are interested in this project and of course writing it through a DEI lens. Thank you

3 Likes

Hi Heather,

I hope all is well.

Sounds like a great project and I’m interested. Can you send me some more details?

1 Like

Hi Heather!
I’d love to learn more about your project. I also work at a community college in the area of teacher preparation (early childhood, elementary, and secondary) and care deeply about issues of equity and DEI. You can reach me at joangiovannini@gmail.com- let’s chat about details and timelines.

1 Like

Hi Tremika,
I’m so excited to see your interest!!
Do you think I could get your email? There is one other person also interested and I’m thinking we could start an email thread and then maybe Zoom?
But for basic details, there is a chance to write a grant for the project in my home state of Oregon this spring. The work on the textbook could start anytime, however! We could start outlining it and brainstorming, etc.
And just as background, my impetus to start this project is based around a horrible textbook that my college chose to use for an experimental course they piloted for a grant program. I was totally appalled by the textbook (which claimed to be through a DEI lens) but I felt had some outdated and damaging ideas. So this made me want to create something good!
My email: allies4equityccc@gmail.com
Personal email: lavenderheather@gmail.com
My work email is: hdouglas@clatsopcc.edu
Excited to connect!

Hello Joan!