Session 1: Introductions (July 2023 Cohort)

Hello @july23-cohort,
I look forward to meeting you all today and discussing Rebus’ collaborative approach to publishing and how a larger community around a resource can not only make it more robust but also help to maintain it down the road. I’m excited to hear about your teams’ projects!

See you soon,

Amy :smiling_face:

1 Like

I’m an Associate Professor at Fitchburg State University, where I helped launch a bachelor’s degree in Digital Media Innovation and a master’s degree in Social Media. For my textbook project, I’m editing an existing OER project related to the Introduction to Communication and Media Studies course that I teach and adding sections and case studies on both logic and rhetoric.

3 Likes

Hello again, @july23-cohort !

It was wonderful to meet so many of you, and see all teams in our cohort represented at our first session! A link to our chat is forthcoming. Here is a link to the Slides.

The main focus of today’s session was to get to know one another, understand how our sessions will be structured, and learn about Rebus’ tools and approaches.

We also spent a bit of time discussing Rebus’ collaborative approach to publishing, and how a larger community around a resource can not only make it stronger, but also help maintain it down the line. Our approach hinges on thinking about communications, accessibility, formatting, and more at each stage to really harness the global potential of OER. And these stages can and most likely will be flexible, and thus play out in different ways for each team — that’s what the model is built to do!